The Importantance Of Vision

bill-gates-quote-the-vision-is-really-about-empowering-workers-giving-them-all-thehttp://wp.me/p3xwyb-2A

I believe the challenge that most businesses face is getting people to work together for a common goal.

How do you get your people to focus on what is important? And what needs to happen in order to achieve a specific goal?

Do you as a company have a specific clear definite purpose?

Do you know the strengths and weaknesses of your people?

Are they working as a unit or does every team/person work individually?

Over the last 12 months I have had the pleasure of working with Marriott Melbourne and what stands out is that because of one man’s vision they have grown to over 3500 hotels globally and have the most loyal and long serving staff in the hospitality industry.

Thinking about it what Bill Marriott has achieved – reminds me of Steven Covey’s 8th Habit

Find your voice and inspire others to find theirs.

“Vision is about more than just getting things done, accomplishing some task, achieving something; it is about discovering and expanding our view of others, affirming them, believing in them, and helping them discover and realize the potential within them—helping them find their own voice.”

—Stephen Covey

Recently I had the pleasure of being invited to the Marriott Melbourne customer appreciation breakfast event and no matter which employee I spoke to I couldn’t help notice the passion and commitment to serve which I believe comes from the Marriott’s core values.

  1. Put people first
  2. Pursue Excellence
  3. Embrace Change
  4. Act with integrity
  5. Serve our World

I believe the greatest asset a business/company has are its people, and if the vision you have of yourself and company is strong then it will inspire change.

Change always happens from the top.

People build companies not the other way around.

What is your vision?  Does it inspire change?

What are your business goals?

Why are you doing what you are doing?

I wish you many great successes on your journey and please do not hesitate to contact me if you feel I can contribute to your success.

Frank Ziovas